Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
Shell Advice - Canada Geese
I'm going to have the opportunity to hunt for Canada Geese at the end of the month. It's my first time going, and I'm looking for advice on shot size. Any pros or cons to one size over another? I'll probably stick with 3-inch shells.

Sent from my SM-N910V using Tapatalk
Thanks given by:
3” BB. That’s all you need to know. No need to go any bigger than that. As long as whoever you are going with knows how to hunt and call the shots then you can kill them with #3 or #4 and a good choke...and take head/ neck shots. Get some BB and stomp em. No need to spend money on fancy shot. I’ve been almost strictly using Rio Blue for the past two seasons with great success. I think I had one cripple in two years.
Thanks given by:
For just geese I would use BB. Doesn't really matter the brand. I personally like hevi steel, it's under $20 a box. And I'd recommend a modified choke. Good luck
Thanks given by:
Yep. As the guys said get you some BB and you will be good to go.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk Pro
Founder: Make it Rain

If it is in season I will hunt it.
Thanks given by:
Thanks guys! That was my plan but wanted to make sure I wasn't missing something that I should have been taking into consideration. I'll let you know how it goes. Should be fun no matter what!
Thanks given by:
put that plug in Ya gun!!!!

Thanks given by:
I tried a 30 yard crossing shot this morning with #3s and a modified choke. The lead goose tipped his wings at me and laughed as he flew away. I got a single feather off of him to show for my trouble and didnt attempt a follow up shot. Needless to say ill take yalls advice and buy a box of BB before i go back out.

Sent from my LGL52VL using Tapatalk
Thanks given by: